About the North Sydney Electorate

The North Sydney electorate is a thriving urban centre that hugs the northern shore of the Sydney Harbour. It extends from Gladesville, Woolwich and Hunters Hill in the west, to Cremorne in the east and Chatswood in the North.

Traditionally under the custodianship of the Cammeraygal and Wallumatta peoples, North Sydney is home to more than 167,000 people, living in almost 68,000 households across the area.

The federal electorate of North Sydney was first represented by Dugald Thomson in 1901. We have since had a total of 11 Federal MPs, including former prime minister Billy Hughes, former treasurer Joe Hockey and “father of the independents” Ted Mack, and most recently, Trent Zimmerman.

We are a vibrant and diverse community, with almost half of us born overseas, and over a third speaking a language other than English at home.

The electorate has a high proportion of knowledge workers and is home to many innovative businesses, with a number of software, media, and other high-tech companies based in the North Sydney and St Leonards CBDs.

North Sydney is a passionate and compassionate community. Both the North Sydney and Lane Cove local government areas are active Refugee Welcome Zones, and there is significant support in the community for greater equality: for women, First Nations Australians and asylum seekers.

North Sydney has also long been a centre for environmental advocacy, with local residents demanding greater protections for the many parks and reserves that not only enhance the beauty and livability of our area, but are also crucially important to local wildlife populations and air quality.

Kylea Tink has been Federal Member of North Sydney since May 2022. Besides Ted Mack, she is the only non-Liberal candidate to have won this seat since Federation.

Suburbs in the North Sydney electorate

Boronia Park
Chatswood West
Crows Nest
Gore Hill
Hunters Hill
Huntley’s Cove
Huntley’s Point

Lane Cove
Lane Cove North
Lane Cove West
Lavender Bay
Linley Point
McMahons Point
Middle Cove
Milsons Point
Monash Park
Neutral Bay
North Sydney

North Willoughby
St Leonards
Tambourine Bay
Willoughby East

Didn’t see your suburb on the list? Not to worry, the AEC has an electorate finder.

Find your electorate